ROW80 : End Of Week Check-In

As I mentioned in my Mid-Week post, it was my first week back at work this week, and so I anticipated my figures would drop slightly. Especially as my kids have been up by 5 am every day (with today being an exception).

Still, I am content with the numbers I have posted. Would I have liked more? Yes. Do I want to write words for the sake of a good daily total? No. I want to write words that fit with the novel, that advance the plot and character arc.

Sunday: 463

Monday: 280

Tuesday: 1030

Wednesday: 825

Thursday: 813

Friday: 2020

Saturday: 558

It gives me a week total of : 6089. You can see why I am content with the achievements.

To be honest, in the middle of the week I was struggling with the plot, I had reached a place where I just couldn’t think of how to bring my characters further forward, without just saying. They walked up to the castle and knocked on the door. Now I am not writing the script to Season of the Witch two, so such lines of text have no place. (Those who have seen the film will I am sure know which line in the movie I am talking about.)

On the sales from, I am very much in – as the one and only Andrew Mocete puts in – The Rut when it comes to sales. It is annoying me a bit. I mean I don’t write my books with the sole purpose of selling millions, but because I love to write. (See this great rant post from LM Stull about ‘Real Writers’)

I am sure I will figure it out. A case of the old Try-Try-Try-Again is appropriate and that is exactly what I plan to do.

On the reading front I Finished Tarranau by James Tallett – a review of the book and an interview with the author himself can be found further back on my blog.)

I am now reading Bits of You Pieces of Me by Kimberly Kinrade. It is not my normal reading comfort zone, but I am always interested in pushing the boundaries and learning to appreciate new things.

Best of luck to all of you NaNo-ers out there and to all my ROW80 accomplices also.

2 thoughts on “ROW80 : End Of Week Check-In

  1. Thank you for mentioning my blog post! Congrats on a fantastic weekly total!

    “Would I have liked more? Yes. Do I want to write words for the sake of a good daily total? No. I want to write words that fit with the novel, that advance the plot and character arc.”

    I say this all the time. There is no reason to rush your writing. If you do, you just end up with more to edit!

    Keep up the fab work, my friend! 🙂

Leave a Reply

