For me, December is a busy month. There is Sinterklaas, celebrated in Holland on December 5th, and my son’s birthday on the 17th. Then of course you have Christmas, and the period leading up to it, and the time after it that brings us into the New Year.

Growing up in England, Christmas is the holiday for me. I love Sinterklaas, and think on the whole it is a better holiday. In terms of execution, in terms of how they have actual answers for the standard child question; ‘how does Sinterklaas go around every house in just one night.’ Yet, I cannot shake the feeling the December is about Christmas. (My son’s birthday is obviously not really included as that trumps everything.)

The spirit of Christmas, the act of giving instead of receiving. Ok, we don’t -very rarely – actually get the Dickens Christmases, but it doesn’t matter. For that is the image we conjure up for ourselves every time Christmas comes around.

This being said, there are certain things that need to happen before I can truly feel that Christmas spirit come to life. It is strange, that I will admit, but I simply cannot even begin to feel Christmassy, until I hear Slade Merry Christmas on the radio.

 

I have no particular connection to the band, as they were well before my time, but I have come to associate this song with Christmas, and without it, I just cannot feel truly festive.

What do you have that simply has to be seen or heard before you can celebrate Christmas? A song, a smell, a date? It’s weird confession time 🙂

 

3 thoughts on “Got the Christmas Feeling

  1. Chevy Chase’s Animal House Christmas Vacation and this year, the Santa Clause, the original one, ushers in the Christmas season for me, Alex. But most of all, the Advent season four weeks before Christmas Day and lighting the candles, then this year I’ll be going to Christmas Eve mass with two friends. Children and friends and family, and my wee tree, and the old Nativity scene that’s 30 or 40 years old now, which my children picked out and maybe paid for long ago.

    1. Oh yes, Santa Clause the movie. I can’t tell you how many Christmases have been spent waiting for that Super Duper Looper to come along. Technically I set looking forward to Xmas from December 1st (if not earlier) but cannot officially begin until Slade comes on. It’s one of those unexplainable foibles that people have. Thanks for dropping by and commenting.

  2. When I first met my wife, ten years ago, she introduced me to “A Christmas Story.” I couldn’t believe I missed this one before that. Christmas music always brightens my mood, thanks.

Leave a Reply

