The End of a Year

Well, 2011 is drawing to a close, and in much the same fashion as others, I figured I would post a few things about the year we have just witnessed. Not new or current affairs events, I mean, like we don’t see enough of that during the day.

No, I was just planning on going through a few of my top 3’s from 2011.

Reads

Of course I start with books,

  1. Tarranau – by James Tallett – If you were not following my blog earlier this year you would have missed my obsession with this book. It was possibly one of my best reads ever
  2. A Thirty-Something Girl – by L M Stull – I have not technically finished this yet but will do so today. Never have I read a book so quickly or wanted one to last for so long
  3. The Dark Tower Series – by Stephen King – I started the series in 2010 but read more than half of it in 2011. It was so unlike other works I had read in terms of breadth of story, character arcs and surprises. Not to mention an ending that appealed to my dry sense of humor and had me laughing for days afterward.

Movies

I am a fan of movies, and although for a while this year I watched very little, I have been luck enough to watch a few absolute crackers (and more than my fair share of crappers.)

Not all of the movies were made in 2011, but it is when I watched them.

  1. Insidious – Direct by James Wan (Saw, Death Sentence …) – This movie is incredible. It was the first film in a long time to truly creep my out while watching it. Everything about this movie was spot on, and if you are a lover of ghost stories, or just like to be scared, then this is the one for you.
  2. Unthinkable – Starring Samuel L. Jackson and Carrie-Anne Moss – I was not expecting this movie to be what it was. I read the premise very quickly and though … oh nice, an action movie. What I got was possibly the best psychological movie I have ever seen. The twists and turns, the emotions you feel towards the main character(s) is unparalleled to anything I have ever seen before.
  3. Martyrs – Directed by Pascal Laugier – This French horror movie is the oldest of the three and one I wanted to watch for a long time. It is a horrific movie to watch, at times almost impossible. Yet it is this that makes is so incredible. To be honest, I would find it hard to separate the three movies in terms of ranking. Martyrs is a Frankensteins monster of the movie world, a movie people should fear and hate, but once seen, cannot help but love. It raises some serious questions about humanity that will leave your speechless.

Events

This one is easy, my three favorite events this year would be the birthdays of my three children. Seeing their faces as they wake up to find the flat transformed with balloons and banners galore.

1. James – 4

 

 

 

2. Ashleigh – 1

 

 

 

Logan – 3

 

 

 

 

2011 has been a great year, all of my friends and family got 1 year older, 1 year wiser. We survived sickness and health scares and are still smiling. I wrote and published a novel, wrote a second and hope to publish that early in 2012. I have created this site and seen it grow with each passing month. I have made so many new friends, too many to name them on here, and to save from forgetting anybody, I shall simply say that I am immensely thankful for having connected with you all these past 12 months.

 I have learned a lot about myself this year, and personally cannot wait to see 2012 arrive. For it brings with it promises of a great many things, for me, for you… for us.

Thank you all for reading, and all the very best for 2012. Let’s make it OUR year!

7 thoughts on “The End of a Year

    1. Thanks Hannah, I would love to stop by your blog. Would you also be interested in guesting on mine? I am working out some interview questions a little bit away from the standard fare. 🙂 Fijne Jaarwisseling!

  1. Happy New Year, dear friend! Thank you SO much for including my book as one of your top reads! I’m honored!!

    And your children… ARE ADORABLE!!!!

    Best wishes to you in 2012!!

Leave a Reply

