ROW80: A Week’s End 07.01.2012

The first week of the year is finished. More importantly, the first week of ROW80 has been completed.

Looking back, I did not do anywhere near as much editing as I wanted to. This is down because of several key factors. My children were awake at 5 am (or 3:30) even morning which took away that time before work that I normally write in. Also, my evenings were filled with various other tasks which reduced my writing time. I did something every day, and that is important. Next week however, I intend to get some serious editing done and make up for the lost time.

I did finish my first book of the year yesterday. Forbidden Mind by Kimberly Kindrade. It is a YA novel, and not necessarily my normal genre, but boy am I glad I read it. You can find my reviews on Smashwords, Goodreads and Barnes and Noble.

We are already underway with the move. The paint has been bought for the living room, the furniture has been decided upon if not bought. We got they keys yesterday and are going in to start cleaning that cupboards and tidying the things that do not need to be painted. I have a two story shed in the garden that I have claimed for my own and will turn into a home office / writing den for myself.

So how are you all doing after week 1?

5 thoughts on “ROW80: A Week’s End 07.01.2012

    1. Thanks. It came out in October and I have seen a steady increase of interest. I guess I must be doing something right. 🙂 The second part should be out by around Feb / March time all things being equal

  1. I think the studio/shed sounds ideal, Alex.

    My eldest grandson is profoundly autistic. He’s 28 now.

    I agree with someone else on LinkedIn about working at night, it’s quieter and I get more done; also have a digital recorder I use for interviews and could be used for taking notes, etc., cost me $30 at London Drugs.

    I write and edit as I go along. How about you? Then I edit again, then a friend/editor edits it again, then I edit it, then she reads it again and edits it some more.

    I also have a day job, working as a medical transcriptionist from home, and that’s how I support myself because I can’t make a living writing so far, although it helps to have a bit of extra income.

    I’ve downloaded Brian Landowne (sp?)’s book to my Kindle and am looking forward to reading it. Something about Bionic wars, and I think it has to do with vampires, but I’m not sure. I don’t write about vampires though. You recommended him as a writer, I believe. I also want to read Stephen King’s latest book 11/22/63. I was in Oklahoma City at that time with my new husband, although we generally lived in Canada and are Canadian.

  2. Wow. I am not good at early mornings. I would not be a happy camper if my kids were up at 5:30. I get up at 6:00 and I want that hour of quiet before they rise. My eldest will get up sometimes, but he is usually good on his own and won’t bother me. But when the youngest wakes, forget about it!

    Congratulations on the book! Exciting stuff. Here’s to hoping next week you find yourself back on track. I am hoping I get into a better routine as well. Keeping my fingers crossed.

    1. Thanks Debra

      I too hope for a better more productive week, but the kids were all awake by 05.15 this morning so go nothing done. Lunch time is going to be busy with phone calls organizing the move, so I am putting all my eggs in the evening basket and hoping I can get a big chunk done. I seriously think I will need to set my alarm for 4.30 now, to see if that extra half hour in the morning will give me some extra room.

      Thanks for dropping by and commenting. Good luck for the week ahead.

Leave a Reply

