Allow Me to Introduce: Kimberly Kinrade

Today, it is my absolute pleasure and honor to hand my blog over to the wonderful (and award winning) Kimberly Kinrade. Kimberly’s YA novel Forbidden Mind was the first book on my TBR list for 2012 and I enjoyed it so much I have placed it right back on the list again.

Kimberly very kindly agreed to answer a few questions for me, and so, without any further waffle from me, we shall begin.

As a horror writer myself, I simply have to ask this question first.

1. What is your favorite scary movie?

I think I’d have to say the Paranormal Activity movies. I loved those.

2. If you could be any character in Fiction, who would you be?

Syd from Patti Larsen’s Family Magic. She’s part witch, part demon and very awesome!

3. What is your favorite color?

Depends on my mood. Purple or blue usually. Sometimes red.

When I was younger I got kicked out of my English class for using this classic excuse. The only thing was for me it was true.

4. Has the dog ever eaten your manuscript?

Lol No. Which is good, because rarely do I have a manuscript in print. The dog would have to eat my computer. That’d be bad.

5. What do you consider your biggest failure?

Not getting my PhD. But it’s no longer a failure for me, just a different path chosen.

6. Do you laugh at your own jokes?

Depends on the joke. J

7. When you were a child, what did you want to be when you were grown up?

Everything, and a writer. Eventually I settled on writer.

8. How do you react to a bad review of one of your books?

It’s never great getting a bad review, but I used to be a theater critic so I know how the game is played. They don’t bother me too much, usually. If one is particularly upsetting I’ll email a close writer friend who loves my work and they cheer me up. J

9. What’s the most blatant lie you’ve ever told?

When my brother and I were kids, I whispered in his ear that he should throw all of the stuffed animals we had out the window. He got in trouble, obviously. When my parents asked what I had whispered in his ear, I said “I told him I loved him.” The truth eventually came out and I was in even bigger trouble!

10. What is the biggest sacrifice you have made for your writing?

I gave up a job that paid a lot to focus on my writing. I’ve also given up a lot of sleep. Not sure which I miss more, the money or the sleep! lol

11. What inspired you to write your first book?

My first novel, Forbidden Mind, was inspired by a dream I had about a girl who could read minds and who was rented out as a spy to rich people.

12. So Kimberly, 2011 was quite a year for you. Bits of You &Pieces of Me, Forbidden Mind and the first in your Chapter Book series; Lexie World. Aside from world domination what are your plans for 2012?

Is world domination not enough? Lol 2012 is going to be epic. First of all, wedding bells are ringing. October 6, 2012 Dmytry Karpov and I will be married in a castle in Nova Scotia. I can’t tell you how excited I am about that! Also, the rest of the Forbidden series and Three Lost Kids series will be out and I will be publishing The Reluctant Familiar (the first of a YA/MG series) and another trilogy, The Chronicles of Corinne.

It’s going to be a grand year!

13. What books have influenced your life most?

The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis for one. I think as a child that whole series opened up my imagination and gave it wings.

14. What was a time in your life when you were really scared?

Well, the most scared I’ve ever been is a horrible story of waking up from a nap to discover that my ex-husband had left me and taken our nursing, infant daughter with him—leaving her at a random person’s house so he could go drinking all night. That 20 hours of searching for her was the worst in my life. But better to tell a funny, scary story…

The funny scary story:

The phone rang. I checked the caller I.D., shocked that my friend was calling me from Holland. I stepped out on the front porch so I could take the call without the noise of my three little girls interfering.

We only got as far as “hello” in English and Dutch when my all of my kids ran outside screaming.

“Mommy! Mommy! Something is wrong with the house. We have to move NOW!” They were hysterical. I thought for sure the house was on fire… or worse.

I ran inside, expecting a huge disaster, but didn’t see anything.

My oldest pointed across the room. “Look there, Mommy. In the kitchen. I was just watering the plants. I don’t know what happened!”

I looked across the living room into the kitchen, but still didn’t get what the emergency was. My friend waited on hold patiently—paying a fortune for each minute my children screeched about our house.

Then I saw them. My stomach clenched in disgust and my heart tried to escape my chest and run away in fear.

We were under attack from multiple directions. Mutinous, evil and more dangerous than they looked, they infiltrated our home in small, mobile teams of soldiers.

My beautiful African plants—the only plants I’d ever been able to keep alive longer than a week—were covered in a black swarm from hell. Long lines crossed our white walls like living, moving scars.

Ants.

Apparently, when my daughter watered the plants it signaled an entire army of ants that it was time to come out of hiding and attack.

I feared and loathed them in equal measure, and now they were taking over my kitchen. My children began to scratch and cry from bites the demons had already managed to inflict on their innocent flesh.

I screamed and begged my friend across the world to come save us from the ants. Give me dragons, demons, blood sucking monsters—anything but ants.

Knowing that I was the only hope my children had of survival, I faced my fears and rushed the offending plant life—which had apparently been hosting entire battalions of evil—outside to the backyard. I sent the girls to the bathroom to bathe and mitigate the damage to their skin and proceeded to spray every inch of my kitchen, and the plants, with every chemical I could find in my cabinets.

Our house quickly became a toxic site habitable only by those in HAZMAT suits.

My poor African plants, impervious to neglect, dehydration and abuse, finally succumbed to the tortures of poison. Once the air in the house was safe to breathe again, we were able to resume our lives. But it took many weeks to stop scratching imagined, and real, itches from the monsters that once invaded our home.

My Dutch friend mocked my fears, accusing me of overreacting. He took back his mockery when I emailed him the pictures.

Anyone would have been blind with fear had they seen what I saw that day.

Let’s change it up a little bit. Next week your partner in crime love and life Dmytry will be my guest, so let’s see if you two can answer a few questions about each other. No cheating now.

15 What’s Dmytry’s favourite fruit?

Oranges

16 What’s Dmytry’s favorite colour?

Red

17 I do this quite regularly with my wife. The last question I believe was ‘If you had to eat someone, which Nationality do you think would taste the best. So seeing the Dmytry is a horror writer. Has he ever raised a story idea with you that was so horrific that it kept you up at night?

Not really. He does have some great short stories that are horror, his primary genre is epic fantasy, so that’s what we usually stay up all night talking about. 😉

Kimberly, thank you very much for taking the time to answer these questions. I am sure that, wedding aside, 2012 is going to be a great year.

Stay tuned, because at the same time next week, Kimberly’s husband to be, and equally amazing writer Dmytry Karpov is my guest.

Bio.

I was born with ink in my veins and magic in my heart. As a child, where others saw shapes in clouds, I saw words. But I was also an entrepreneur at heart. So when my business arrangement with the Tooth Fairy ended, I went pro by writing my fantastical stories and selling them to all my neighbors.

Fast forward…um…many years and many college degrees later…and I am now a published author after a long career as a journalist and freelance writer.

Though I have written in many genres and fields, I am most passionate about the world of the paranormal and fantasy. Look for these exciting young adult paranormal novels coming soon from Evolved Publishing.

Forbidden Mind (a trilogy) She reads minds. He controls minds. Together they might get out alive.

Death by Destiny (a trilogy) She was born to power, power that could destroy worlds. He was born to stop her, whatever the cost. They didn’t plan to fall in love. Will it save them or lead to their foretold destruction?

and…

The Reluctant Familiar (a series) When fate takes hold of her life and thrusts her into a world of gods and goddesses, Agnes must decide: Is she a normal 13 year old girl, or the most powerful witch alive?

And for the children, check out The Three Lost Kids Trilogy coming December 2011 through Evolved Publishing. With full color illustrations, this unique chapter book series for 3-9 year olds follows three sisters as they enter magical worlds and learn important life lessons from the new friends they meet there.

When I’m not writing, editing and writing some more, I spend my time with my three little girls who think they are princess ninjas with hidden supernatural powers, our two dogs who think they are human, and the one man who is my soul mate and writing partner.

Here is a family portrait from Lexie World (The Three Lost Kids, #1)

To learn more about Kimberly and her work please visit her website or click on any one of the book covers below.

     

5 thoughts on “Allow Me to Introduce: Kimberly Kinrade

Leave a Reply

