A Social Outcast

A sneaky post from my office laptop. I apologize for any bad grammar, it was kind a secret operation to get it written and posted.

 

Well, we have successfully moved out of our flat and into a real house. The kids love it, and despite the cold weather making out attic bedroom almost uninhabitable, the house is perfect. However, the one problem with any move is that there is that pesky delay between moving home and your internet / TV / phone line coming with you.

We have to wait a whole week before our signal gets turned on again. Why it takes so long, don’t ask me. It just seems to take a while, even though we are moving within the same town, with the same provider.

When they first gave me the news I thought. Ok, it’s easy enough. After 4 days I am just about climbing the walls. I wouldn’t quite say that I am having internet withdrawal or anything like that, but I can certainly say that going cold turkey in terms of Internet and Television is not much fun at ALL. The phone doesn’t matter, we never use it anyway. It is more so that my family in England can call us.

I miss not being able to post of my blog, this post is being written on a laptop that I will have to try and connect from work when I get in tomorrow and post via that route. I miss interacting with other people. At the end of the day, the only real friends I have in my life (beside my wife and kids) are the ones I have made through social media. I have no idea what is going on in the world, and don’t ordinarily have time to read the newspaper so having one delivered is a waste of money.

I cannot even play the pc game I relax with without an internet connection, which is annoying as it isn’t an online game, but the software that supports it is.

Even my book is currently beyond my reach as it is on the PC and that currently has no home, and without the internet I cannot access that most recent version that I have saved in my emails.

My own internet longing aside, you never realize how much you can count on children television until you no longer have it at your disposal. The weather outside has taken a sudden turn for the worse, and is now even snowing. I know that may be nothing for some of your, but for us in the Netherlands, -2 Celsius is approaching Country standstill conditions. This means that we have been inside for a lot of the last 4 days, and with nothing but a few DVD’s to keep our youngest two entertained, It has been a bit of a stretch. That being said, all three children have been incredibly well behaved during the whole process. Maybe it is us that are missing the TV that most, but that is mainly because as an adult there is definitely a time limit on how much Peppa Pig you can watch before your head explodes. For those that are interested, it is 2 hours and 25 minutes.

I am back off to work tomorrow, and can once again reunite myself with the social media world, and hope that I have not been left behind. Perhaps most importantly of all, I really want to see if I have sold any books. I had a large number of Tweets pre-scheduled but they were only until Saturday. Since then all promotions have been placed on radio silence.

3 thoughts on “A Social Outcast

  1. Hang in there! I can’t imagine what that might be like; I practically sleep w/ my iPhone. I laugh when my wife tells me she forgot her phone. I’m like, are you kidding me? For me, the first question is where’s my trusty iPhone. The second question is where are my clothes. In a manner of speaking, of course.
    -Jimmy

  2. Ditto! While we were away last week I insisted we leave the laptop at home, and then I think I missed it more than my husband. I would have gone insane if I didn’t have my Blackberry for emails and social networks. How did this happen?

Leave a Reply

