Review: Dracula

Dracula
Dracula by Bram Stoker
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

What an amazing book. It is clear to see why this is a classic. I had read it before but I was just a kid and couldn’t appreciate the complexity and attention to detail that went into it. The simple fact along that it is not your standard narrative tale, but rather told through a colleciton of diary extracts, newspaper clippings and ships logs put together to spin a yarn that has sparked more stories and movies than anything I can think of.

I will admit that the ending seemed rather aburpt to me. I had expected a larger finish, however having read the book, I see it fits and was their plan all along.

The only problem I had with the book was that at times the lanuague used for the speech of some of the characters, namely the wolf keeper at the zoo, made for very hard reading. However, I understand why it was done, and got through it without too much hassle. It was more a case of read it slowly that re-read it ten times.

The pacing of the book was good, there were moments of terror and moments of calm. It feels strange to be reviewing a book such as Dracula, but hey, it’s just my two-pennies worth.

On occaison the over friendly nature of the characters with each other got a little sickly sweet, however it needs to be remembered that his book is old, and written in a time when manners and good feelings towards those in your life were not just expected but a part of society,
On occasion I thought the dying of Lucy was a little drawn out, the multiple blood transfusions, but looking back I see why. Vampires are linked by blood, one sires andother and so one, but the true call always links back up the chain. In sharing their blood with Lucy, the group of friends are linked in a pact to fight the vampire.

I am so pleased to have finally read and apppreciated this novel, the background of Dracula is explained. and ok, I knew the background from movies and pop culture, but to read the reasons from the text that founded the myth always seems to make something clearer.

I would recommend this novel to anybody, and to those who claim the book is a tale of homosexuality (in the form of vampires) battled heterosexuality (in the form of Van Helsing and his friends) I say you are merely looking for a soap box to preach your pointless and outdated views on life.

View all my reviews

6 thoughts on “Review: Dracula

  1. It’s great to see others appreciate this as much as I do during the Twilight era. lol I read it when I was a kid as well and didn’t remember half of the nuances until I picked it up again a few months back. I agree the ending was abrupt and apparently bram Stoker had notes for a sequel that his great grandson Dacre finally wrote. I’ve been interested in it but haven’t taken the plunge yet. Excellent review.

      1. Definitely, that’s my thinking. Many of Stoker’s fans and critics slammed the sequel but I’m a firm believer there is no bad book. At least until I tried to read Twilight but that was an anomaly. I hope. lol

Leave a Reply

