Another day, another completed week of ROW80.  Way back on Wednesday, I laid out my plans. My goals for this round. It was a long list, and so I won’t bore you with it again. You can find the post here in case you missed it or want to refresh your memory.

The first week of a new round is always an interesting period. You have set your goals and are now having to put them into practice. Finding time in your normal schedule to fit them in. Now, for those of you that have children, you will fully understand and appreciate the near impossibility of sticking to a schedule. The more children, the harder it becomes.

Yet, I have had a very good week. I read a book. A whole book, in just three days. A Stir of Echoes by Richard Matheson. My review can be found on Goodreads. It was an ok novel, but not as good as I am Legend.

On the writing front I have made great progress with my Beta Comment changes, and should get it all sorted by the end of the week. If I get a good run going, then maybe even tonight. I just need to re-work one scene and make a few small changes around it. The one thing I then need is to send it to my editor for a final grammar check and it is done. Ready for my Beta reader to take a final run through it. I will admit I am nervous about sending it, not because of the book itself, but rather because I don’t want to have missed something and have her thinking I didn’t listen.

I have been pretty good about blog visiting, I have hit my three blog posts pretty much ever day. I haven’t ready anything yet today, but I have a couple of posts bookmarked to read so it shouldn’t be a problem.

My secret project has been a bit slow, but most of the blog posts I have bookmarked to read are in part research for this project. Killing two birds with one stone. Now that is good time management.

I still  hold very high hopes for this round and am heading into week two with my head held high.

One a note separate from my goals, I was talking to a friend of mine about website visits dropping over easter. They said that theirs had dropped and then quoted me their figure for yesterday. It was about a weeks worth of visits for me. So, I also need to figure out how to get more visitors to my blog.

The one aspect of my goals that I did nothing on was sales. My sales have once again dropped down to nothing. 2 in the last two weeks. What I need is to not only get a sales tactic down, but also figure out how I can actually promote myself. This is a major stumbling block for me. As I am sure it is for a lot of other writers out there. Represented of fully independent it makes no difference. Writers are being forced to become salesmen(women) and there is nothing we can do about it other than adapt.

8 thoughts on “ROW80: Week One is Done

  1. Wow. I don’t think I could ever read a novel in 3 days. My wife on the other hand easily could. Kids do make reaching goals harder so kudos on having a good week. Best of luck with increasing your traffic and getting those sales in.

    1. Thank you Ryan. I am sure the answers are out there, and I am sure I have the ability. It is just a question of merging the two facts into one.

      Thank you for stopping by and Happy Easter.

  2. That is awesome you read a book in three days.. the only way I can do that is if the book is riveting (and I start it on a Friday night).
    Hopefully you can find out how to drive your sales soon.
    I wish you continued success with ROW80… See you around RowTown!

    1. The book was pretty good, not as good as I had hoped for. A Stir of Echoes by Richard Matheson. It fell a little flat in the end, but certainly some good points about it.

      Thanks for dropping by.

  3. Congratulations Alex, meeting any goal with young kids is an achievement; meeting a whole lot of them is nothing short of miraculous! On the marketing side of things perhaps it’s all just a case of time, time and more time. I think of profile raising as being like moving to a new town where you don’t know anyone. At first you may only get to know one or two people but then through those initial connections to begin to meet /their/ connections and then somewhere down the line the whole thing begins to snowball. I think reviews help – a bit like a car-boot sale – but ultimately you just have to be patient. And enjoy the process!

    1. Thanks Andrea, I was delighted with my progress.

      I think you are right with sales, it is just time, and I accept that. The problem I always have with the new town analogy is that I’ve been living in The Netherlands for coming on 6 years and still haven’t made any friends. Although that is more because I don’t socialize haha. I am not giving up or even considering it, rather just musing. I need to find a way to branch away from Twitter marketing and start selling across a wider platform.

      Thanks for stopping by, as always your comments are always appreciated. I hope you had a great Easter Sunday.

      1. Thanks Alex. Hope you and your family had a lovely Easter break as well 🙂

        Re the making friends bit…good grief man…when exactly would you have the time to socialize??? My daughter is 25 now and although she is still living at home it’s not the same as having young kids. Yet I don’t socialize much either. -shrug- I guess people like us just write a lot 😀

    2. That is my problem, if ever I am invited to a social event I always either say I can’t because of the kids and that I don’t see them too much during the week because of work, or I just think, I could be spending my time writing or reading.

      We are a special breed of people I guess. It frustrates my wife no end.

Leave a Reply

