Dearly Devoted Dexter
Dearly Devoted Dexter by Jeff Lindsay
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

In my opinion this book was just as good if not better than the first in the series. Maybe it is because this plot moved away from the TV series and so what I was reading was new. With the first book, having seen the shoe, I knew what was coming in the book, or at least knew the direction the plot was heading. This time around, it was all new.

The wit and the scarasm were perfectly delivered and well timed. The conversation style inteernal musings of our favorite serial killer were easy to read and a joy to experience. The ending was once again built up and well delivered, and in a way that only Dexter can deliver, the ending was a happy one. Death was dished out in healthy quantities and the bodies were disposed of efficiently.

Once again however – and this may be a latent hangover from the series – I missed the development of Angel, in my eyes he is a detective in my eyes. The character interactions and the involvement of a wider range of Dexter’s friends and colleagues was a bonus, and something that I felt was missing in the first novel.

The development of Astor and Cody is compeltely different to what I expected, but also explains a lot about Dexter’s character and will I believe be the basis of a great many entertaining adventures.

This series has me hooked and I cannot wait to read the next installment.

View all my reviews

3 thoughts on “Review: Dearly Devoted Dexter

Leave a Reply

