The Reading Spectrum

When I first heard about e-readers, I was skeptical to say the least. I didn’t like the idea of reading from a machine. Books were the place where the written word belong. Filling shelves in libraries and bookstores around the world. Row after row of colorful covers and amazing images.  The idea of a small machine, hand-held above all things, just seemed wrong…

Oh how times and opinions can change.

I am now officially addicted to my Kindle. I love it, it is always with me, I read it every morning and evening. The thing that shocked me the most was, how easy it is to read on. Not only the whole sunlight no glare issue, but just how soft it was on the eyes. How easy it is to slip awake and completely lose yourself in the text. It was nothing like reading on computers, which is what I had feared it would be.

Saying that, I will never give up on the real deal. Paperback books, hardcover books, old books, new books, it doesn’t matter what sort, but books will always be a part of my life. It is imperative that books never be left behind, not matter how much the digital age continues to advance.

Once again, I digress from original statement, so to summarize, I am been converted. I think e-readers are great, and recently – on the drive in to work this morning – I was thinking about reading and books, as is so often my train of thought, and another benefit of the e-reader dawned on me.  One that it would be hard it’s paperback counterparts to challenge.

Who you are, and the character your project unto others, sets a certain bar, creates a stigma if you will, that denotes what sort of books your should be reading. With the advent of the e-reader, this stigma has met its match.

I read a post the other day that said more men are reading Romance novels now.  I fail to cannot accept that this is just a sign of modern times, and wholly agree with the notion that it is thanks to the reading anonymity offered by e-readers. You can sit on the train, the bus, in the office canteen or outside at any location and happily read any book you want without having people (especially friends and or colleagues) looking at the cover and making fun of you for your choice of reading.

Can you imagine a biker reading a bit of Jilly Cooper? or what about a married man reading homo-erotic fiction, not because he has any latent feelings or issues, but simply because it is out there and is something different to read?

Both of these examples are now not only possibly but I dare say occurring as we speak.

The range of genres that we as people can now read has expanded exponentially in recent times because we can now read the books we want to. We can try new things without risking ridicule from our peers. Let’s face it, even as adults, a lot of us will bow to peer pressure or the internal whisperings of the mind.

“If anybody sees you reading that…”

“That’s a girly book, blimey what if the guys in the gym saw this in your bag…”

People always say that you should never judge a book by its cover, but maybe it should be, never judge a reader by their book’s cover.

3 thoughts on “The Reading Spectrum

  1. Absolutely brilliant Alex! I realised that having a Kindle freed me from the grind of having to wear glasses to read and from having to be so selective about what books I bought because they were so expensive but I did not, till now, attribute the different genres I’m now reading to my Kindle. You are so right. Go Kindle Power!

Leave a Reply

