ROW80: The Week in Review 06.05.2012

Another week has passed us by, and it was by far my busiest week this year. Not only in terms of writing, or should I say, sadly not in terms of writing alone. Real life grabbed hold and ran away with me over the last seven days, and you know what… I had a great time.

Monday was Queensday and just a day of celebration and general fun. Tuesday I had to work, but my wife was out in the evening, and so I had a long editing session. Wednesday saw my wife and I head to Belgium for the NKOTBSB concert. (She is the fan, not me) and I will happily admit that it was a great show and a truly wonderful day. Thursday and Friday were working days, but the good times from the start of the week kept on rolling through, and into, the weekend.

On the writing front, my editing is going well. I am kind of fed up with it now, but it is the final round. I am super excited to see it finished, but refuse to rush or get sloppy.

Out of all of my goals, this is the one I have focused on the ost for obvious reasons. I have read everyday, but still cannot get into the book I am reading. Not to mention that the author changed character names for a page or two. That didn’t help my indifference to the novel.

I have had a couple of ideas for potential novels / short stories in the last couple of days. Rather, I have had some developmental thoughts on a couple of existing ideas. It felt good.

I have set myself the preliminary deadline of May 15th for the editing, that then gives me two weeks to tidy up, and get the formatting done, ready for a May 31st release. That is also my birthday and it seems like a nice idea to me to have a release on the same day. I have a little bit to do still, but a couple of good sessions and I am sure I can hit the dates.

That’s pretty much it for this week. There is little over two weeks before my holiday to England, or rather, my trip back home to visit my family. My eldest son is super excited about it, and has a calendar that he is diligently crossing the days off every morning. It will be a nice and very welcome break. Plus, if my editing is done, I can actually treat myself to a complete rest… well, maybe, or at least not get up so early to write but rather just enjoy some gentle plotting moments. 🙂

How was your week? Did you get everything done that you wanted to? Are you on target or playing catch up. I know the great thing about ROW80 is that you can move the goalposts to suit your situation, but has anybody had to do that this round so far?

Leave a Reply

