Allow Me To Introduce – August Stable

Joining me today is the second character in my book and the long time friend of Karsten Ford, my guest from earlier in the week.

August will be appearing in, and holding down a large role in my upcoming WIP Part 4 The Course, and he has agreed to drop by today and give us all a little glimpse at the inner workings of a Howborough Police Officer.

Without further ado, Ladies and Gentlemen, I pass my site over to a man I plan one become rather well acquainted with over the coming months… August Stable.

Who are your parents? My parents are Roger and Susan. My father passed away a few years ago from cancer. My mother lives near my brother. She never liked the city and so moved down to Devon so she could relax and enjoy her retirement. She was a school teacher.

Do you have any siblings? What are their names, ages, predilections? I have two brothers and one sister. My eldest brother, Joe, lives in the states and is a journalist out there. My sister Rachel is the same age as me. Not twins, just the ‘best kind of accident’ my dad would always joke. She lives in town and is a teacher just like Mum. My youngest brother William lives in Devon. He is works in construction and just started his own company last year.

What’s your favorite chore? Anything in the garden.

What’s your least favorite chore? Vacuuming. Thankfully my wife normally does it. Although she does make me do it from time to time.

What do you do to entertain yourself? I read, and love to potter about in my garden. It’s nothing special but it relaxes me. I also love spending time with my boys. We all like sports so we tend to sit and watch a game every Saturday afternoon.

Who is your best friend? Karsten Ford. I’ve known him since we were kids.

I thought you would say that. I spoke to him yesterday. He is a character, but you just have to learn how he is, and after a while you get used to him. *Smile* He is a good guy, he just doesn’t like to show it too often.

Why are they your best friend? We go way back, and just kind of seem to fit. We both used to be a bit wilder when we were younger, him slightly more than me, but what can I say. Boys will be boys.

Who is your least favorite person? I don’t have anybody in my life who I hold in such low regard. If I did, I would simple get rid of them. Life is short, you know. But one thing that annoys me is celebrity, or rather those people who are ultra famous and in every place you look, but for absolutely no reason.

Why are they your least favorite person? Oh, I think I got ahead of myself with the last question. haha

Who do you wish was your best friend? I like the friends I have, otherwise they wouldn’t be my friends, but I guess

Who are you closest to? Ultimately, I am closest to my wife, but then again I tell Karsten things that I would not tell her, and likewise the other way around.

What colors do you prefer? I like Claret and Blue – my football teams colours

What colors do you hate? Red, although hate is a very strong word to associate with a color don’t you think.

Do you have a hobby? What is it? Gardening and recently cooking have become some hobbies of mine. Mainly pasta and rice dishes. Nothing fancy, just kind of a ‘bit of this and bit of that’ in a pan system.

What’s your fondest memory of growing up? I remember the holidays my parents use to take us on. From camping and touring the UK to trips across Canada and the States, our holidays were always an experience to remember.

Which memory of growing up do you wish you could get rid of? There are a couple of moment from my teenage years that I wish I could forget, but don’t they say that everything that happens to us, shapes the person we become? Blimey I sound philosophical there.

Where do you go when your angry? Um, I don’t know really. I guess it depends where I am. I don’t often get so mad that I need to go away to cool down. I guess if it ever got that bad I would go outside, for a walk. Clear my head.

What is your biggest fear? Whom have you told? Whom would you never tell it to? Why? I am ridiculously afraid of the spiders. I guess it’s normal. I’m not too keen on the idea of drowning, but I guess nobody is.

Do you have a secret? Can you keep it? I would like to think I could. It would depend. Something really bad, well, if it was criminal I would have to do something, but kind of a gossip style secret, yeah, I could hold my mouth. Unless it involved someone close to me, like my family.

Or Karsten? He is my family too.

What makes you laugh? I am a sit com fan. Friends, Big Bang Theory, any show like that just cracks me up. Plus fart jokes, they never grow old.

Have you been in love? Of course

Have you had your heart broken? A few times, but I was a bit of a player when I was younger, so I guess the scores are about even.

What kind of clothes do you wear? Would you like to wear something different? Why? I’m a casual all the way guy. Tidy, but casual. On holiday I only shave once a week, but for the rest I like to be presentable.

Are there any smells or sounds that you associate with your childhood? There is a very specific butter that when my wife cooks with it, I just remember my family holidays in the caravan from when I was a kid.

What things do you own that you could never throw away?  The things my kids made for me from school. Father’s day and birthday crafts. You know the things. I still have a coffee mat and picture from on my desk that my eldest made during his first year at school.

What do you consider your greatest achievement? My children. They have all grown up to be intelligent, successful men and I could not be prouder of them if I tried.

What is your idea of perfect happiness? A big Sunday roast dinner with the whole family. Wife, Kids, wives girlfriends, grandkids (eventually) the whole works.

What is your current state of mind? I am happy. I just got a promotion at work. But don’t tell Karsten, he was hoping for it, and it turns out that there was only one spot. Stupid budget cuts.

You sound afraid of him finding out? Not afraid, but Karsten never seems to get a break. You know.

What is your favorite occupation? I love my job, and couldn’t even imagine doing anything else.

What is your most treasured possession? I have a pocket watch that was my great grandfathers. It gets passed on with the birth of the first grandchild.

What or who is the greatest love of your life? They always say that you never forget your first love, Lucy Coles back in high school. But real love, that’s something that comes with time. So to answer you, my wife is the love of my life.

What is your favorite journey? Life. There I go being all philosophical again.

What is your most marked characteristic? My optimism. I always see the bright side in a situation.

When and where were you the happiest? Being at home. Some people need to go away, and I like to travel, but nothing beats being at home.

What is it that you most dislike? I guess crime would be too obvious, so I guess it would be the benefit culture that seems to be sweeping Britain like Beetlemania.

What is your greatest fear? Dying alone, not being found for a while. You know. Well, that kind of killed the mood. Have you got something light-hearted for me?

What is your greatest extravagance? My family. I would spare no expense for my family.

Which living person do you most despise? Nobody that I know of, but in the grand scheme of life I would have to say pedophiles and wife beaters.

What is your greatest regret? Not going to University. It is my only regret, because for the most part, I don’t believe in it.

Which talent would you most like to have? I would love to be able to sing. I don’t have to be Elvis, but holding a note would be nice.

Where would you like to live? Hawaii. I went there for my second Honeymoon and I fell in love with the place.

What do you regard as the lowest depth of misery? Not having somebody to share your life wife. No family to come home to at night, no friends to turn to.

What is the quality you most like in a man? Honesty

What is the quality you most like in a woman? Breasts. What can I say, I’m not always philosophical. Haha.

What is the trait you most deplore in yourself? I bite my nails until my fingers bleed.

What is the trait you most deplore in others? Changing personalities. You know what I mean. People who one day are laughing and joking and the next day are just a complete ass. I’d rather you just be one or the other. I don’t care which just pick one.

What do you most value in your friends? The fact that I know they are there for me, and likewise I am there for them. I keep my good friends close, and we all have each other’s back. In good times and bad.

Who is your favorite hero of fiction? I love Wolverine, you know, from the X-men

Who are your heroes in real life? People who do the right thing, regardless of their own personal beliefs or wellbeing.

Which living person do you most admire? My son’s

What do you consider the most overrated virtue? Chastity *chuckle* nah, I don’t know, I’ve never really thought about it.

On what occasions do you lie? When it is necessary… but never at work, just to be clear.

Which words or phrases do you most overuse? Bugger, and You Know. I try to stop but they keep coming back.

If you could change on thing about yourself, what would it be? I don’t know. I’m not perfect, far from it, but I’m happy with my life, and changing it could change it for the worse.

What are your favorite names? Logan.

How would you like to die? Peacefully, surrounded by my family.

If you were to die and come back as a person or thing, what do you think it would be? I’d come back as a bird. Something graceful, because I would love to be able to fly.

What is your motto? I don’t really have one, but I guess. Good conquers all, something like that. *Laughs* What can I say, I’m a sap.

5 thoughts on “Allow Me To Introduce – August Stable

      1. -grin- how much of their characters did you have worked out already and how much emerged as a result of the ‘interviews’?

    1. To be honest it was about 50/50. I had the basics, but a lot of those small character traits came out in the interviews. It was really good fun to do and helped develop the characters before the novel begins.

      1. I wish my mind was organized enough to do that but seem to have developed a ‘surprise me!’ attitude in all my writing. Not that I don’t think things out it’s just the characters. Then again I’m writing about aliens so I guess they’re meant to surprise me 😉

Leave a Reply

