Writing Is Hard Work

As an independent author, I set my own deadlines for rough drafts and the final draft publishing date.  However, just because I do this myself doesn’t mean I don’t hold myself to the standard of finishing on time.  You might say: “You’re not like a real novelist who has a deadline from a publisher set in stone.  You can change your deadline at will and still be ok with it.”  The answer to that is definitely “no.”  I take pride in being able to meet a deadline.  Even though I set the deadline myself, I see it as a personal goal and if I can be realistic with myself and meet the deadline on time or sometimes early, I feel a sense of accomplishment that is unmatched.

Of course, you may be reading this and you already have scored a contract with a publisher and your deadline is looming.  My…

View original post 734 more words

Leave a Reply

