I have decided, after seeing my good friend Armand Rosamilia do this every week, to write a post every Monday, outlining my plans for the week; my writing plans. I hope that way, I will find myself pushed even further in order to get things done.

Let me start the post by saying, I hate editing. Now, that loathing is coming back to haunt me.

I have about 120,000 words of short stories, which I plan to spread over 3 ebooks that need to be edited.

I think, I am going to make this the primary focus of my week.

I edit in hardcopy first, with a red pen… yes, a real red pen. Then I go through and type up the changes.

I have 60 pages left to red pen edit in the first collection. Now, with three writing sessions a day, equating to about 2 maybe 2 and a half hours, I should be able to get a good load done.

My goal is to write in the mornings before work. My brain is often at its most creative in the early hours of the day. I will then edit during my lunch break at work, and then in the evenings. I figure if I really knuckle down, I should get the 60 pages done by the end of the week, and then next week have them typed up. I lower my standard 750 a day target on the novel to 500 and if need be I’ll set my alarm fifteen minutes earlier for the second half of the week.

Of course, this all depends on my kids sleeping and not waking up at 04.30 with my alarm. Although, if they wake earlier, then I am downstairs earlier, and can write even more… oh the double edged sword of parenting.

I hope you all have a great week of writing, and I would love to hear what goals you have set for yourself.

5 thoughts on “The Week Ahead

  1. Very ambitious but hope you can do it. I used to edit on hard copy first – I know you can sometimes catch things you’d miss onscreen. But with age my handwriting is getting worse than a doctor’s and I don’t think it’s fair to my editing clients to present them with scribbles.
    One word of advice. It is harder to find errors, etc in your own work than in others’ writing because your writing is subjective. So, if you can get someone else to go through it as well – maybe after you think you are done – maybe your wife or a friend (as a reader. Another editor would be great but readers are very good at picking up inconsistencies in plot and characters, story lines left hanging, spelling errors, etc.)
    Good luck but don’t forget to get enough sleep. You don’t want to fall asleep over the hard copy or the screen.

    Cheers.

    Sharon

  2. You continue to amaze me Alex. 🙂 I wish I had 1/100th of your dedication and stamina! Good luck with your goals for this week and I’m really pleased you’re going to get your short stories out there.

    1. Thanks Andrea, I will admit that I do sacrifice things like … a social (non-online) life, and very rarely just sit back and smell the roses. I plan on doing that once I am wealthy and no longer need the dreaded office job. Until then, it’s all hands on deck, full speed ahead and sod the icebergs 🙂

      Thanks for dropping by, it is always a pleasure.

Leave a Reply

