Wattpad – Writing Samples and Author Platforms

There are so many different social media outlets on the net nowadays, it is easy to get bogged down by them all and lose yourself in the maze of platform boosting, Klout increasing, pathways of a virtual social life.

Wattpad is one of these outlets, which… ok, it’s not really social media, but for a writer it certainly is a nice package that can help you solidify the foundations of your author platform. I have an account, and I have posted a few stories on there, to well, almost insignificant success if you see the top views tales, but still, every view is a potential fan.

However, I have always had the feeling that I am not really using the site properly, or to its true potential. I mean, I add a story, tweet it once or twice, Facebook it once or twice and that is it. For the rest I just let it sit there. There has to be something more to it than that… right?

I guess this is more of a request for advice on how to best use this resource, to maximize my potential, or is it really just as basic as it sounds. Upload… tweet… the end.

I have seen a new trend arising in the Wattpad universe, and it is this very thing that has caused me to rethink my approach and question whether there is more to be gained.

I have seen a lot of writers, hosting others work. Posting stories and excerpts for other writers. Obviously, this was all above-board, and advertised as being that person’s work, but it made me think. Is this a new option. I mean much like any social site, you build up fans and followers, so by having your story hosted by another author who writes in the genre, you are introducing yourself to a potentially new fan-base.

What do you think? Where do you stand on Wattpad and the role it could play in building an author platform. Is there something more to it than just a place to post bits of fiction you have written?

I would love to hear your views, because I will admit, this site and the potential is has, intrigue me.

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Wattpad – Writing Samples and Author Platforms

  1. Hi Alex. Hmm, interesting questions. I admit to using Wattpad in a similar way to you, although I am now starting to retweet and schedule links to my stories on my Facebook author page, to try and get things moving in the right direction. I think your idea about cross-promoting might be worth pursuing. If we can share our work with other fanbases, it can only be a good thing.

    1. I think it is certainly something that should be considered. I mean we do it on blogs all the time, so why not take this next step. I really want to start using Wattpad more. I just need to figure out the lay of the land first.

  2. I’ve never heard of Wattpad until now but hosting other writer’s stuff sounds like the guest posting we already do, no? Ah, I just realised Wattpad isn’t a bloggy thing. Be interesting to see how it pans out Alex. Keep us posted.

  3. Thanks for the marvelous posting! I certainly enjoyed reading it, you might be a
    great author.I will make certain to bookmark your blog and will eventually come back from now on.
    I want to encourage you continue your great work, have
    a nice day!

  4. I am extremely inspired along with your writing talents as neatly
    as with the structure to your blog. Is that this a paid subject
    or did you modify it your self? Either way stay up the nice quality writing, it is rare to see a great blog like this one
    these days..

Leave a Reply

