Work In Progress Blog Hop.

I was in for a nice surprise this morning when I woke up. I had been tagged by the talented C p Bialois on the Work In Progress blog hop. t was a great start to the day.

Well, the premise is simple, and the rules are explained below. So, without further ado or waffle from me, let us begin…

Rules:


***Answer the ten questions about your current WIP (Work In Progress) on your blog.
***Tag five other writers/bloggers and add their links so we can hop over and meet them.

What is the working title of your book? Par For the Course, or Par 4: The Course I am tossing and turning between the two options.

Where did the idea come from for the book?  The idea came to me a long time ago. The story not so much. My entire Highway to Hell trilogy was spawned from the layout of the book. It is set on a golf course, and as such, each chapter is a hole and equal in length to the par of the hole. That was what came to me first, and I loved the idea of it. The story came much later.

What genre does your book fall under?  I would have to say Psychological Horror.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?  Um that’s a tough one. I think Mark Ruffalo and Edward Norton would be nice for the two main characters.

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?  When a troubled boy becomes a troubled man, a downward spiral is never far behind. No matter how hard he tried to hide who you are, the truth will always out. (Ok, that’s two sentences but hey, I don’t like rules.)

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?  I am not sure. I am thinking about submitting it so small presses. It needs editing still, and there are plenty of tweaks so I have time to mull things over.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?  The first draft took me four months exactly. I didn’t realize it until now, but it was four months to the day.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre? I have no idea if I am honest with you. I could not even hazard a guess.

Who or What inspired you to write this book? As I mentioned above, the layout of the book itself came to me, and I couldn’t shake it. The story had to be written, but it took me almost four years before I even got around to it. I started a dozen times, and probably wrote a good fifty or sixty thousand words in total, but every time I ran out of ways to link the holes together with the story that I had chosen. I also love the police, the job is my dream, and all the shows out there I love. The darker the better, and so combining the two became the only way to go.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?  In essence it is a tale about life. How our past can come back to haunt us if it lets us. It is about being in the wrong place at the wrong time and not being able to stop the spiral once it starts. Friendship is also a central theme, and the lengths we will go to protect out true friends, regardless of what they have done to us. What is that saying “A good friend will help you move, a true friend helps you move the bodies.”

My 5 nominations are:

Andrea Flory

Monique Snyman

LM Stull

Armand Rosamilia

Todd Brown

Take it away peeps!

2 thoughts on “Work In Progress Blog Hop.

  1. Thanks heaps Alex! I rather like this idea. In typical fashion though, I didn’t realise that /this/ is what a blog hop means until I read your post. I’ll go put my thinking cap on now and get stuck into it. 😀

Leave a Reply

