The Week Ahead

It has been a while since I made a weekly goal post, but with the arrival of Damon and the whole trying to find a schedule with 4 kids running around did not lead to any real organization of my thoughts, let alone forward planning.

However, the last two weeks have gone very steady with the writing, apart from the weekend just gone, where I didn’t get a single word written. Besides, a couple of thousand on blog posts, but I’m never sure if that should really count. What do you think?
I am currently in-between major projects. My novel, Par for the Course (Par 4: The Course) – I can’t decide on the name layout yet – is done, the first draft at least, and I am going to let it rest until after NaNo.  My plan was to edit so of my short stories, I have one collection with Beta readers and two more ready for edits, but then I was struck with inspiration. I’m talking about that, knock you off your feet, it came out of nowhere, wow, kind of inspiration.

Holland does not do Halloween (or bacon, or pop-tarts, can you believe that you cannot buy pop-tarts here!) and so I am penning a short horror story for all my colleagues at work. It will be based around the ‘bugs’ we find in our system and send to the IT to fix. The theory is simple, bugs come to life, blood, guts the standard fare.

I have designed a rough cover already, and my goal is to get the first draft finished by Friday, then to edit over the weekend. I am planning on sending a copy to everybody in the company on October 31st, as my way of keeping Halloween alive in this country. I don’t know how it will be received, or if it will even be read, but I don’t care. I love the story idea, and once it is done, there is actually an anthology open to subs currently that this would fit perfectly in.

Well, that is about it for my plans this week. Okay, I should try to get some short story editing in as well.

So tell me my friends, what are your plans for the week?

Leave a Reply

