Am I Really So Shallow

Apparently the answer to that would be yes.

I should probably back up a bit and explain….

I have read a lot of posts recently about how people are branding their books as being a Kindle Bestseller… or Amazon Bestseller. Now, I understand this, and can see why people are doing it, but the argument against it is simple. With all the free promotions, and sub-sub-sub-sub categories that novels can appear in, seemingly at random (on occasion) there is really nothing that substantial to the Bestseller claim being made.

Why do people do it then? There are many reasons, with increased sales being the main one, but let’s face it, at the end of the day, we are all, to a certain degree… shallow. We want to see how successful we are, how good. If that little line helps people feel better about themselves and their work, then why not put it. It is not a lie, if you were number 1 of a specific list, then you are indeed, or were for a period of time, a bestseller. It is how you interpret it that makes the real difference.

To therefore return to my initial banner, and the tongue in cheek (honestly) proclamation that I am Number One.

As many of you know, I relocated to the Netherlands, from the UK 6 years ago now, and since then I have settled into life, and fully embraced the writer in me.

I was searching the internet yesterday, trying to find other Dutch horror writers, and… you guessed it. I could not find any. I few who have written a horror novel amongst others, but none that were really Horror Authors. The closest was a man who they called the Dutch Stephen King because he had written two horror novels, but the rest have been children’s fiction, and more fantasy based.

It is therefore only natural that I stake my claim as being Hollands Premier Horror Author. Will I be adding it as a tag line on my novels… probably not, but hey, I smiled all day yesterday at the thought of it.

8 thoughts on “Am I Really So Shallow

  1. -grin- I think we can crown you King for a day at least! And just a word about being on any bestseller list : I really doubt that my book will get on such a list, even with the cleverest finagling of the whole marketing thing. So, in a sense, being a big fish in a tiny pond is still an achievement. πŸ™‚

    1. I am sure your book will fly to the top of every category it gets entered into Meeks. πŸ™‚ It certainly takes the pressure off knowing I am top. Ok, technically I’m not Dutch but that is just a minor detail. lol

Leave a Reply

