Amazon buying Goodreads

Now, I will be the first to admit that I do not use Goodreads properly, or efficiently as a writer. I have my books listed there but that is it. As a reader I use it to place all of my reviews and mark what I am reading. I like it as a site, and keep telling myself I will use it more often.

The other day I heard about how Amazon has bought the site, and now I am just wondering what they are planning on doing with it.

What do you think? Be creative, be serious, I don’t mind. It’s Sunday, so let’s just have some fun!

AMAZON-GOODREADS_612x380

 

For me, it makes me think of the Sylvester Stallone movie Demolition Man. They go out for dinner to a fancy restaurant… Taco Bell. When Stallone’s character asks they say “Every restaurant is Taco Bell”

This is exactly the future I see for retail.  “Every shop is Amazon.”

2 thoughts on “Amazon buying Goodreads

  1. In one of my stories, Alex, I refer to Amazon.com as the AmazonEmpire.com (It had been changed in the future). That wouldn’t be so bad, actually. I love purchasing from Amazon.com and eBay. 🙂

  2. According to a very cluey blogger named David Gaughran, Amazon wanted Goodreads for the data. Apparently the recommendations algorithms word better the more data they have.

    What effect, if any, this will have on Goodreads I don’t know. I too use Goodreads at a very low level – mainly because I find the interface so clunky. Everything I do is centred around my blog rather than an external social media outlet. Probably not very smart but that’s my comfort zone.

Leave a Reply

