The Following: Hot or Not?

I have been hearing a number of very mixed reports following the season finale of The Following. Due to vacations, I only saw the final three episodes last night, but I loved the show. Sure, there are things in it that might not have been very feasible in reality, but call me crazy, but that is why I watch TV. If I wanted to watch reality I would be bored still. TV is an escape, and that is what I found in The Following. Sure I love Kevin Bacon (and not just for his surname), but I genuinely enjoyed the show. The concept of it being all about a book, and the villain being, in essence, a writer who reacts badly to negative reviews (oh yeah, and a psychotic serial killer and cult leader) gave it a nice setting and pace.

I thought the cast were all well suited and the build up and cat and mouse play between Joe and Ryan was well written and came across very well on the screen. I though Joe made a great villain. Much like Dexter, Joe was a serial killer I actually kind of liked. Even though there could be no other comparisons made between the two in terms of nature and the way they conduct themselves.

I will not give away any spoilers, and would like to ask that none are left in the comments, because well I don’t want to ruin it for anybody who has not yet seen (or started watching) it.

What did you make of The Following? Did you like the final episode. I sure did, and I cannot wait for the next season to get going.

Tower_TheFollowing

7 thoughts on “The Following: Hot or Not?

  1. I loved the show. I did feel as though the ending tried too hard for that sensationalist TV finale, but I already knew it would. TV is TV, and the fact of the matter is: This show inspired me to write. I couldn’t ask for more. 🙂

  2. Thought the show was excellent! Sure there are some hokey ‘TV’ fodder parts here and there, but for the most part it was well-written, interesting and suspensful. I give it two thumbs up!

  3. I have only watched trailers and commercials, none of which really inspired me to give the show a chance. I’ve heard mixed reviews about the whole season, so I’ll probably pass on watching.

Leave a Reply

