A Potential Cover Piece

Well, I have been thinking a lot about publishing and writing these past few days / weeks, and while this will all be covered in a few posts later in the week, I have decided to try my hand at creating cover art. Mainly because I don’t like to depend on people, or badger them for things. The more I can do myself, the more control I have and I can push myself to meet any deadlines I have in mind.

 

With that said, here is my first attempt at a real piece of cover art, previous attempts were just an image with a title This time I really played around on Paint.net.

It still needs something to make it pop. In my opinion. I think something in the background to remove the black.

I would love to hear your thoughts. It would be for the eBook version of my short story collection. The Musings of a Hideous Mind: Volume 1

 

The lead story is about a bride who gets drenched in a rain of blood during the wedding ceremony, so there is a reasoning behind the image I chose.

I haven’t bought the images yet, so any and all comments will be welcome.

2013-06-22 Musings of a hideous mind

4 thoughts on “A Potential Cover Piece

  1. I have a few ideas bouncing around, but the one that’s the most solid is a picture of people laughing all colored in different shades of red. Depending on if she was the focal point of a practical joke or not. Maybe various elements of your other stories mixed in an collage behind her?

  2. That is pretty nice, kind of has that underground, pulp feel. I did quite a few layouts of CD covers in my past career and got advice from major advertising artists in the field, so I do have a few suggestions: I do not like the text font, your name had to be consciously read instead of being instantly recognized. Especially because it is going down the side, it should be simpler block letters.(I would actually reconsider the name positioning) Secondly, the title font doesn’t conjure the mood of the title itself. It instantly makes me think, period peice or Medieval. I would do the title and your name in different fonts. Hope you don’t mind my opinions, I’m assuming you wanted an honest assessment. Naturally, opinions are just that, take it or leave it as you see fit 🙂

    1. Thanks, Honest is exactly what I wanted. I have the title now appearing in a dripping blood design and large enough to be read easily. Also I have my name going along the base of the image. I will upload a second version later one once I have added a couple of extra details.

      I’m glad you liked the feel to it, that was exactly what I was going for. Slightly off mainstream.

Leave a Reply

