Authors and Publishers: Six things to do immediately to get more readers and keep them

Very sound advice indeed

C h a z z W r i t e s . c o m

We are in a battle for attention. Here are three things to consider today to get readers’ attention and keep it:

1. List posts, like this one, are popular because they are easier for readers to scan. (They’re also pretty quick to write.)

2. There’s a good chance your blog posts are too long. Mine often have been. I changed that once I realized how few people give blogs a deep reading. You probably aren’t reading this. You’re scanning this for what you can use.

3. I put the font for this blog in bold after a few readers complained the font was thin. Some readers, either because of their devices or their eyesight, still had problems reading the font. I bumped it up again.

4. When you write a blog post, you often have the option of adding links outside your blog. Click the underlined word and blog readers…

View original post 531 more words

3 thoughts on “Authors and Publishers: Six things to do immediately to get more readers and keep them

  1. Very interesting post Alex, and I know for a fact that video clips do draw readers in. So do pictures. Part of the reason for that is the WordPress reader. Text only posts tend to disappear, sandwiched in-between graphics. I’m a reader first and foremost, but when I noticed that even my eye was being drawn to the posts with graphics I knew I had to rethink my posts, or at least leaven them with some graphics where appropriate.

Leave a Reply

