The day I Met an Evil Girlfriend

I know that everybody looks forwards to these posts. Ones that talk about Me. Today I am making an outing at the home of Evil Girlfriend, Katie Cord. I’m talking about my horror series Highway to Hell, and more specifically how I went to Hell and back creating it.

2013-06-01 Highway to Hell

 

Alex Laybourne’s desire to write is so strong, he gets up at 4 am to hack away at the keyboard before his four kids wake up. This is no small feat for someone who works a full time job. Like many horror writers, he’s one of the nicest people you will ever know. He prides himself on keeping in contact with fans and is always willing to help a fellow writer. 
  
I’m bringing you an interview with him regarding his series, Highway to Hell. 
 
Katie: Where did the idea for Highway to Hell come from? I’m hearing AC/DC as I say that!
 
 Alex: When I first sat down to write Highway to Hell, I had no idea where it would lead. Heck, I didn’t even know what it was going to be about. In fact, the original premise never really made it into the final version. I had the idea in my head of a book set on a golf course. Each chapter being one hole (I’ll stop there with that because my next book ended up using this theme). This led me to researching anything and everything I could find connected to the number eighteen.
         I soon discovered that in Buddhist mythology there is the Diyu, a Hell governed by the Kings of Yama. Now, there are multiple ‘versions’ and interpretations of the Diyu, but as luck would have it, the one I stumbled upon had eighteen levels.
Katie: It sounds like the plan for this book sort of took a life of its own and on a golf course?
The rest of the post can be found here
Leave a Reply

