Would You Give Your Child The Code?

I have been meaning to write this post for about 3 months now, but every time I sit down to try to get it written something comes along to screw up my plans.

I know that Dexter has finished now, a fact that pleases and haunts me. The show had run its course, and contrary to many others, I thought season 8 was good, it was the right time to end it, not sooner, not later. The final episode was well done, and I enjoyed it., This post is, if the title wasn’t clue enough, linked to Dexter.

I have watched the show from the very first episode, and have read all of the novels from Jeff Lindsay too. I love both Dexter’s equally, and enjoy the fact that they have been taken two different ways. Michael C Hall did a great job as the TV version of the Dexter, while the books offer an even more sarcastic, dark man who could not have been portrayed the same way on TV even for the love of trying.

But it has always had me thinking, as a father to four children. What would I do if I found out on of my children had killed people. Or was aggressive to such an extend that there was only ever going to be one outcome.

Would I turned them in, once I heard about their crimes, or would I sit them down and give them a code of my own. Rules to follow. Would I help my child commit murder?

Think about that for a second? Would you teach you child to take other people’s lives. The live of people who are, beyond any other form of description, bad? or would you send him (or her) to  a place filled with such creatures, a place where they have the upper hand, and he (or she) are unarmed?

I have thought long and hard about this, but could not say for certain which route I would take.

I could on into a lot more detail, but figured, a) it will probably cause trouble if I get on my soapbox about how maybe, with the current judicial system, the vigilante approach might just damned work, and a moral code could be the best set of laws we could hope for, and b) this has been a painfully quiet month on my blog, and I thought we could try and get a little discussion going on.

What about you?

One thought on “Would You Give Your Child The Code?

Leave a Reply

