99 Cents: An Experiment in Book Pricing

As I am sure many of my regular readers – yes, both of you – will know, I have reduce the price of Highway to Hell to just 99cents. This amazingly incredible sale will run through all of December.

Why?

Why not!

I have long seen people talking about the pros and cons of the 99cent e-book, and I myself have published (and since removed) several short stories priced at 99cents. However, those were priced appropriately for the length, or rather, there was nothing special about paying that price for a short(er) story.

This time around, I am taking a full novel, 95,000 words, 323 pages and pricing it at $0.99cents.

 

Alex, what are you trying to prove? It’s all been done before!

 

I know, but I’ve never done it, and if there is one thing I have learned over the years, it is that what works for one, does not work for all.

I am promoting this title like crazy, and hoping to see a couple of things happen. One is an increase in sales, which have  been pitiful to say the lease, and also I hope to see a change in my other, full priced titles.

Will it work? Who knows. I can but try.

So far, after two days, I am sitting around 80 k on the Amazon rank. I am not sure of the sales numbers, but they are in any case better than they were, but not as good as I would like.

I am treating this promotion like the experiment that it is. I am trialing different approaches and gauging the results. This current push is very much Facebook based. I am going to add Twitter, blogging and Google+ (when I really figure it out) and see how each one impacts upon the other, and if they can all be used in tandem, or if a more structured ‘rotation’ strategy is required.

 

If things work out well, I may consider keeping Highway at this price and using it to get people looking for Trials and Tribulations (Part II) and my other work.

 

In any case, it is worth a try.

Together we will master this promotional game.

 

Thank you

 

Alex

5 thoughts on “99 Cents: An Experiment in Book Pricing

  1. $0.99 sales can be really fantastic, but I find the only way to make it so is by using a paid listing in a newsletter specifically for subscribers wanted bargain books. BookBub is, of course, the biggest, but they are highly selective and accept only about 20% of applicants. You’ll more than make your money back though. Ereader News Today is the second most effective, and they rock because they take 25% of your Amazon royalties instead of an upfront fee. FK Books & Tips is smaller, cheaper, but still good. Then, there’s Book Blast. They’re getting pickier but are worth looking into. Drawing from a large pool of author experience, I can say with confidence that all the other paid promos will lose you money. But those ones are the best ways to maximize a $0.99 sale.

    1. Thank you for the great comment. I have looked at BookBub but they are currently out of my price range. Ereader news today however sounds like a great plan. I am going to check them out today.

      Thanks once again.

      1. You’re welcome. ENT is a more attractive option, but BookBub often gets better results. Everyone I know made their money back, plus with BookBub, and at least with BookBub you get quick responses, yes or no. ENT people are very nice, but you often won’t know until 48 hours before if they’re going to list you. ENT works best when you plan a sale 30 days out and figure out a way to promote the sale besides ENT, and then if ENT comes through it’ll be a huge bonus.

Leave a Reply

