Words of Wisdom: Thinking like a Champion

Just a short post this morning.

A long time ago now, back when I was a boy, my grandfather said something to me that has stuck in my mind ever since. It was not meant as anything more than a passing observation, but it resonated with me then, and still does today.

In many ways it is this thought that drives me to keep going, to keep making those sacrifices, no matter what. I can recall the scene as if it had happened yesterday, and I think it was the first real piece of advice I had ever received that really meant something to me.

 

It was a raining, when we saw a man out for a run. My grandfather watched him run by and then said,

 

“That is the difference between a a champion and the rest of the field. Someone who runs because it is good for them would find an excuse not to run when the weather was bad. Someone who ran because they thought it was the right thing to do, would find an excuse not to run, but a champion, he doesn’t look at the weather. He gets dressed, puts on his shoes and goes for a run, because he wants to succeed, he wants to achieve his dreams and he won’t let anything stand in his way. That is the difference between a champion and the next guy”

 

You can easily put this same analogy to being a writer. I know I do. I often find myself thinking it, and I guess it helps me because I am always right back there in the scene when the advice was first given to me.

When I wake up at 4am, and it is dark out, or freezing cold and the rain is lashing against the windows, I’ve only had 4 or 5 hours of broken sleep, I tell myself this, and I find myself getting out of bed, getting downstairs and knuckling down. Because I am not writing just because I can, I am not going to settle for being an also-ran. I will be champion dammit!

6 thoughts on “Words of Wisdom: Thinking like a Champion

  1. You certainly *are* a champion, Alex. I knew that there was something special about your writing the first time I read and edited your short story collection. You have what it takes to make it: ambition, desire, a feeling of “I have to write,” etc.

    Keep up the wonderful work you’re doing, Alex! 🙂

  2. Well said Alex and here’s to a champion 2014! I am using you for inspiration to attract more people to my blog this year. I want to emulate some of your success, and so I will look at how you work and adapt my own methods from there. Thanks for being here for us!

    1. Thank you for the wonderful compliment Catherine. I let the blog slip a little last year, so I hope to keep it running smooth with a two posts a week system. Gives me time to write them, in advance maybe and just let it run.

  3. It never ceases to amaze me how something we hear or see in an offhand way can have such a powerful influence on us. I’ve met few with your drive and determination and that makes you a champion, my friend.

Leave a Reply

