The Problem With Guest Posts

I don’t know about anybody else, but there is something about writing guest posts for other people’s blogs that I just hate. It is strange. While my own blogging is often sporadic, when I do sit down to write a post, the words tend to flow quite freely. Yet, when I go to write a guest post for someone, I can never seem to find the right words. Every idea I run through feels stale and false.

imagesDDHJI7BFI am going to be part of a Facebook event called zOctober. Unsurprisingly this is aimed at the undead, or more specifically it is aimed at undead fiction. I’m led to believe that the people participating in the even and (hopefully) buying the books are very much alive.

As part of this event I need to write a guest post for the organizers website. I have been trying to write this damned thing for several weeks now, but every time I have an idea I think I like, it turns to dust the moment I put pen to paper.

Why is that?Diaries of the Damned blog tour - Alex Laybourne

I love Diaries of the Damned. I love how it turned out and I really enjoyed writing it. It should not be that hard to write a guest post about it.

I would seem that I have a mental block when it comes to this. I understand that writing posts for another person’s blog is certainly different to writing for your own. Even if you know the site, you want to make sure that what you present is something that properly conveys you as a writer.

I know, every post should do that, but I find, running my own blog, I don’t mind posting things that are off topic or light-hearted, etc. I know my regular readers and they know me. Also, for new visitors there are enough old posts fo mine on the site for them to read to get an understand of who I am. You do not have this with guest posts. You only have those 500 – 750 words to get everything across.

I see a lot of other writers, writers I respect, write a lot of guest posts for sites, and I salute them, because for me, it is one of the hardest parts of self-promotion.

I am sure I will get used to it. Between you and me, I have not written too many of them over the years. I just need to get used to it. My plan is to move my promotion more into the blogging world, so I think hope, that I will be writing more and more as time goes by. Until now my approach has been simple, and it is unlikely to change. I simple sit down and keep writing, even if it takes me ten, twenty, or more attempts to create the post I will do it.

 

Does anybody else stuggle with guest blogging, or do you have something else that seems to hold you up? How do you get past it?

4 thoughts on “The Problem With Guest Posts

  1. I make it a habit of writing a few possible “media package” posts as I wrap each book. That gives me one or two to pull out IF anything like that pops up.

  2. Same here, I followed the advice of other indie professionals, and I created a media kit with book descriptions and short author bios and interviews that can be tweaked to fit different websites.

    I know what you mean though, Alex, I struggle sometimes. Present me with an author interview and I will happily answer the questions, but ask me to create a piece for another blog and I dry up. And then when I do write something, I worry that it isn’t suitable, or it won’t entertain people, or it simply won’t do. Perhaps we should simply relax, let it go, and allow our natural writer’s instinct to take over…

Leave a Reply

