It’s been a little while since I wrote a post. This is due to a combination of reasons. One, I’ve be damned busy – at home and work – and the second is because I didn’t really have anything to say. I don’t want to fill this site with mindless drivel. There are plenty of other places for that online. As I said, I’ve been remarkably busy these past few weeks. I was on a big (personal) deadline to finish my last novel (call it a long novella at 53k or a short novel). I started writing it, longhand in May, and it just sat still while I wallowed in my ‘dark period’ a few months ago. I finished it, and just love how it came out. It is dark and twisted, and just comes at you from all sides. Nobody will be able to predict this one.

The initial feedback from my beta readers has said just that. In short, I’m really excited about getting this one out there. It is now in the hands of my wonderful editor. All I need now is a cover and a title. The current one just doesn’t really work.

I am now working on a short story for an anthology submission which I hope to have finish – long hand – by the end of the coming week and typed up the week after. After that it will be on with a new novel.

There are so many trying to force their way out of my mind, but Highway III really needs to be the one I work on first. I am going to write this one longhand also. I am  is falling hard for this writing method quite heavily, and really enjoy the connection to the story. All I need is for my handwriting to become halfway legible and I will be away.

bat

In other news, I have now uploaded Blood of the Tainted to Createspace. The image above, a tribal ‘bat’ is used in the novel as a chapter header. I did the formatting myself, which is not a huge ask, but I felt good fo it. The most satisfying is that I made the full cover wrap myself also. Now to hope it comes out ok.

With funds for things like writing being as minimal as they are, I need to find a way to become more self-sufficient, and creating my own covers is a good place to start.   It feels good to be writing again, and getting everything back on track. I want to keep this momentum building as we enter the new year (yes, it realy is getting time to pull that phrase out of the cupboard again).

It is approaching a busy time of year in our household, with Sinterklaas has arrived which means the kids are hyper about gettnig their presents, and we have a birthday separating the Sint and Christmas – Logan turns 6 – so I am going to have to dedicate some time to freelance work, in order to be able to get the gifts and things without being clobbered by debt in January.

I start a new job in the new year, and I am really excited about it. It promises to be a great challenge, lots of room for me to develop and grow my skills, and my evenings will be free once more to work on my writing.

One thought on “New Novels and New Opportunities; A Productive End to 2014

  1. Glad to hear you’re enjoying your new writing method. If you figure out how to make your handwriting legible, please let me know. I can’t afford to keep buying all this ibuprofen. lol 😀

Leave a Reply

