Where do I go From Here?

I have just finished my most recent anthology submission. It was only a 10k story, but I am really excited about the project, and am so happy to have gotten it finished. I was invited to submit and it was just before I had my semi-breakdown a few months ago. I missed the deadline, but was kindly granted an extension. Finishing this piece is a milestone for me, and in my mind is confirms that I am back. With that in mind, I find myself staring at a new blank page, faced with so many potential stories. The next novel I write is an important decision. It will come on the back of Blood of the Tainted, which I truly believe is the best thing I have written so far.

My options are:

Highway to Hell III

This will be the third and final novel in the Highway series and it has been a year since I published the second installment. I have a lot of story left to tell, but for some reason I can never quite figure out what that story is.

I am hesitant to write this novel, namely because the second book has not sold well. In fact, I would be better off saying it has not sold at all. I need to follow Blood of the Tainted with another powerful novel, and while i have no doubt the contents of Highway III will have that power, the interest in it just does not seem to be there.

Demon Clowns

This novel has been bouncing around my head for a while now. A drunk, crack addicted demon clown who left his hell circus after growing tired of eating the souls of children. Found by a young boy, the clown – Giggles – pulls himself together and goes after the circus he both loves and hates.

Dark Romance

I really cannot say much about this novel without giving too much away, but suffice to say it will be heart-breaking. I love the concept of this novel so much it almost hurts.

Orwellian Novel

This story takes place in a dystopian world where the government create diseases through suggestion and media involvement. They leak news of a new outbreak or disease, and slowly people begin to believe it until it actually becomes a real thing. One man challenges their authority and refused to believe their lies and tries to convince others also. This was one of my most recent novel ideas, and the details still need to be ironed out, but I love the concept.

There are a few other novels, but the above are my main items for the time being. All three are worthy choices, but which one I will ultimately choose is currently infuriating me. Don’t get me wrong, it is not a horrible position to be in, but hopefully I won’t be stuck staring at an empty page for too long.

2 thoughts on “Where do I go From Here?

  1. I say do the Dark Romance book. You have a lot of feeling towards that book and your interest and courage would be in a ood place. 🙂 I am very happy you feel better.

  2. I vote for the Demon Clown one. There’s just something awesome about clowns eating and/or terrorizing people.The idea of redeeming himself is intriguing. Of course, that’s my morbid mind at work so you may want to take that with a grain of salt. 😀

Leave a Reply

