Who am I to Give you Advice on Writing?

Who am I to Give you Advice on Writing?

So many of the blogs I see coming through my inbox are talking about the craft of writing; the art of writing.

There are blogs talking about creating characters, and atmosphere. Adding tension and drama to the influential scenes in your book. I’ve read at least three blogs this month talking about story arc, and a plot points.

Each blog made valid points. They all approached the topic with a different voice, and from a slightly different angle.

Writing-AdviceI will not lie, each blog was filled with tips that could, in theory by useful and interesting. Many of the main pointers were the same, which quite frankly, was a relief. There is nothing worse than reading conflicting posts.

I am not saying that there is anything wrong with these post, or the abundance in which they seem to appear. After all, this craft of ours is so vast, that all of the point that can be classified as style pointers.

I (try to) read all of the blogs that come through into my emails, and the more of these instructional blogs I read, the more one thing becomes clear.

I am in no position to stand up and tell people who they should write.

Who am I to assume I have the ability to offer any guidance in this art. What have I done that means I can stand up in front of a crowd and say what is right or wrong?

I’ve not achieved anything that is overly noteworthy. Not in the grand scheme of things at least.

For me to stand here and preach the skills I have yet to master at even a basic level would make me a hypocrite to say the least.

Sure, I have my way of doing things, but that is not to even suggest that they would work for everybody, anybody.advice

In fact, I would go as far as to preach the opposite. The way I tend to approach things is from an act now, question later perspective, and while, somehow, it seems to work for me, there is a great risk involved.

So how could I possibly consider telling you that there are certain cardinal rules that must be adhered to when writing horror, or when creating a relationship between two characters? I can’t, and I won’t.

I am a good writer, I know this. I am a good ‘teacher’ or ‘trainer’. I know this also, but I know I am not suited to training people on how to write.

For a start, there are too many rules. Too many things that everybody says should be adhered to. In my world, rules are made to be broken, and that is exactly what I do. I rebel, I push back against the rules placed against me. It is in my nature, and that is a large part of what makes my process work. It is why it will not work for many other people.

Maybe that would be the advice I would give. Not writing advice, but life advice. Break the rules, push the limits and don’t let anything cage you.

“Don’t just teach your children to read… Teach them to question what they read. Teach them to question everything.” – George Carlin

Do you fancing giving one of my books a try? Come on over to my author page on Amazon and take your pick. I have novels such as Highway to Hell and Blood of the Tainted, through my chapterbook zombie series, Diaries of the Damned.

The majority of my books are enrolled in the Kindle Unlimited program, so if you are an Amazon Prime member, you can read them for free!

5 thoughts on “Who am I to Give you Advice on Writing?

  1. Very true Alex. What I say when I teach my writing workshops and courses is something along the lines of this is just my approach and I suggest they also take workshops from other writers in the particular genre.

    That’s what I do as a writer – take workshops taught by different authors – I learn something from each author. At the same time as a writing teacher I can’t be wishy-washy when I get asked a question about marketing, but you can always preface it with “in my opinion and experience…”.

    Cheers.
    Sharon

  2. Writers have to find their own way of doing it. You can take all of the advice that you want, go to as many workshops and seminars as you like, but each author has to find their own way.

Leave a Reply

