#AtoZChallenge Day 1 – A is for Art

I have been meaning to take part in this event for a number of years now, and while I talked about it earlier in the year with a few friends of mine, I had totally forgotten about it until today.

The A-Z challenge sounds like just the right thing I need to get my blogging back on track. I don’t think I really posted anything of interest in the month of March, and that was coming off the back of a really exciting start to the year.

So here we go, Alex is getting back into the blogging seat. Who knows, maybe I will get some new followers, maybe I will get some new sign-ups for my mailing list and maybe even sell a book or two. That would be nice, but, it is not the aim of the game. The aim of the game for me, is to have fun. I can easily forget that in this crazy world we live in, but writing is, and always will be about fun. So today, I want to use the letter A to talk about

ART

Art is an interesting word, and for this article, I will look at it from two angles, within the same writing sphere.

a to z

For a writer, cover art is of vital importance to us. I know people say to ‘never judge a book by its cover’, but people do. More so now than ever. On Amazon, the first thing people see when browsing is your book cover. The artwork pulls their attention. The book will then hold it.

For (the majority of) writers, there are two things that we should always leave to the capable hands of the professionals. Editing and cover art. These are key ingredients to a writer’s success, and must be entrusted into the care of someone who is just as dedicated to their craft as you are to yours.

Writing-Flaubert

As a writer, what we create is Art. Our words are the oils, the watercolors, and pastels. The page is our canvas. We create what our heart tells us. We should not write for the masses, we should not write for success, but for ourselves. Like true art, our words do not need to be explained. Our words are ours, and as long as we stay true to ourselves, the core of who we are, then the art we create will always be true.

Feel free to share this post with others, and don’t forget, be true to your art, because at the end of the day, being honest with yourself is all that matters.

Check back in tomorrow for the B, it’s going to be a bitching and boisterous blog.

3 thoughts on “#AtoZChallenge Day 1 – A is for Art

  1. Hi there

    I found your blog through the A to Z challenge.

    I thought long & hard about doing the challenge this year, I was worried that the subject matter would be ill received by those who do not share my interest in the topic, and that I;d feel I had to censor what I wrote as a result.

    But after much consideration I decided that my blog represents who I am, atleast in that context, and to censor my words, my story if you will, would mean I was compromising myself too much in an attempt to not offend.

    I love writing, even though I find it to be, at time, an excruciating process. It is my art, the blog my canvas. And if people don’t like it, so be it

    I look forward to seeing more of your posts

    Flip

    1. That is a very good point you raise there Flip.

      I must say that I can be my own worst enemy at times, not because I censor, but because I don’t I write what I want to write, and have, at times, landed myself in hot water as a result.

      Thanks for leaving a comment. I hope you enjoy the rest of the posts this month, and of course, the ones that follow after that 🙂

  2. You are very welcome. I’ve added your blog to my follow list, so assuming WordPress behaves, you’ll appear on my reader from now on 🙂

    Just to add, regards not writing what you wish to write, I do that too, I always question my ability to adequately convey my feeling/thoughts on whatever topic I’m talking about.

    Flip

Leave a Reply

