H is for Highway to Hell #AtoZChallenge Day 8 and with it comes a #CoverReveal

I sat behind my machine for a long time today try to think of a post to write that had something to do with the letter ‘H’. Now I am going to put it down to the long and heavy week I’ve had at work, because it just hit be like a slap to the face on a cold winter’s day.

letter-h-temporary-tattoo

The post was obvious, and actually fits perfectly with something else I was planning on doing today but never got around to.

I have recently been working with an amazing artist to produce some new, rebooted covers to my Highway to Hell series, and what better way to celebrate the letter of the day, than to provide a cover reveal for my novel Highway to Hell.

Highway to Hell was the first novel I wrote and published. It has had quite a hectic life, going from being self-published, on two separate occasions, to being with the publisher it is now. It has not always been a fun road, but it has been a very educational one.

Highway to Hell was, looking back on it, a rather personal novel. So much has changed since then. I have changed, a lot. I have grown, and would like to think, improved as a writer in that time. Looking back on Highway now, I see plenty of places where I wished I had pushed it more. I see areas where, if I were writing it today, things would be done differently.

Image from Google.ccom
Image from Google.ccom

It may sound strange, but I think Highway to Hell was not deserving of being my first novel. It deserved to be written at a time where I was competent enough to handle the scope of the story.

I am not saying it is a bad novel. On the contrary, I think it is awesome, but in my mind, I just see where it could have been done different.

I still have part three to write, and this is where I can really flex my wings and create something that caps the series off in style, and who knows, maybe one day I will bring out a revised edition of Highway to Hell.

Enough of my idle blather, let’s take a look at the new cover for my beloved Highway to Hell

 

Highway to Hell

7 thoughts on “H is for Highway to Hell #AtoZChallenge Day 8 and with it comes a #CoverReveal

  1. Haha, I’m sitting here with a similar dilemma….letters as yet unclaimed by inspiration!

    Years ago, at a time in my life I’d much rather forget, I started to write. I wanted to e a published author(still do truth be told) but the problem was that I was basically, through a very thin veil of subterfuge, simply retelling my own story. It was inadvertent, but looking back now, I;m glad I never finished it, it would have been too difficult a story to read.

    Maybe one day I’ll be able to revisit, and tell the real story of my characters, distanced, as they deserve to be, from my own.

    1. I sincerely hope that you will pick up the pen – real or metaphoric – and write that novel. If you are a writer, you must write, and even if nobody ever readsd it, and you write it only for yourseslf, it could open the floodgates and lead to more novels, less personal novels. Sometimes we just need to get that one thing written to make space for the words that are to come.

  2. That’s a good cover! I think we all feel this way with our first novels. I could certainly improve Love Hurts (A Redcliffe Novel) if I were ever to republish it in the future… but then, we have to start somewhere. Perhaps those people that never quite get around to publishing a novel, are those that worry about being too perfectionist on presentation. We can always amend something. To get it out there in the first place is an impressive achievement.

    1. I agree Catherine, and as this is a craft we can never master, I think every author, however successful will look at previously published works and see nothing but weakpoints. It is the drawback of being who we are.

Leave a Reply

