T is for Time on the #AtoZChallenge

For today posts I wanted to touch briefly on the topic of time. If there is one thing we all claim not to have enough of, it is time.

I don’t have time to go to the gym, I don’t have time to do this, that, or the other. Yet, if you think about it, time is the one thing we have in abundance. Time is the one thing we have in our lives from the moment we are born until the moment we die. Because the latter is something none of us can see coming, time becomes something even larger. In my mind at least.

Perhaps, when we talk about time, what we really mean is, I don’t really want to.

The_Time_Traveler_by_xetobyte

I know I should go to the gym, but I don’t really want to. There is a movie I want to watch, or, I missed that episode of The Worlds Next Top Singing Plus Sized Postman, or something of the like.

Time is a convenient scapegoat that we can all use. It is universal. Everybody knows about time. Everybody understands how it guides us through the day, and everybody has, as a collective, become so convinced that we don’t have enough time, that using it as an excuse has become a truth.

We really don’t have enough time. I wonder, how many are thinking that right now?

Don’t get me wrong, I too fall into this trap, more often than I care to think. But it is dangerous, and it is unhealthy.

old-time-clock

If we were to take a look at everything we do in the day. Write it all down, everything, from waking up to going to bed. You will be amazed at how many things it is we get done.

Now take a step back. Take a look at all of the things are of no real use, all of the things that could be removed, or at the very least significantly reduced in you day.

Think now about how much you could get done. How much more you could accomplish. That workout we have been putting off just found itself a window. No more excuses. Writing, well, I found about 45 minutes in my day to write; while sitting on the train to work. Now I can never use the excuse of not having the time to write. I just don’t.

Blaming time is an easy and convenient way to cover up the fact that we are, all of us at times, prone to bouts of laziness, or procrastination. Call it what you will.

It is easy to put the burden of our fallacies on time, or the lack thereof, because time is voiceless. It cannot stand up and defend itself. We are the only ones who can do that, and we don’t. It’s too easy to keep time down, to keep it on the side of excuses and blame.

Infinity-Time

We have all the time in the world, we are just more often than not irresponsible with it. Time is vast, and it is precious. To throw it away is the ultimate waste.

How often have you thought about doing something, from going to the gym to going back to school or taking a course in something, only to stop and think, blimey, it will be [xx] late by then or, crap, I will be [xx] years old by the time I am done.

Here is the trick. That time will come, that age will come, regardless of what we do with the period that separates our now, from then.

So let’s stop blaming time for being such a bastard, and in turn think about all of the things we can do because of its magical presence in our lives.

3 thoughts on “T is for Time on the #AtoZChallenge

  1. Lots of interesting thoughts there. I’ve always had the opinion that we take time for the things we really want to do – we just have a hard time admitting that we want, maybe need, to spend time frivolously. If I had time I’d go into it more… 🙂

  2. I totally agree, Alex. I always have time to do stuff. I just very often prefer to fill that time with other activities… and not always the most fulfilling or productive ones!

Leave a Reply

