Y is for Yield As We Near the End of the #AtoZChallenge

Now that my children are getting older, they are starting to become inquisitive about my job. They have seen my office a few times, and while they don’t know what I do exactly, they know the industry I work in and the basics of my day.

They are also reaching the age where they ask about the hours I make and why I work, and I am honest with them. I have a good paying job, but that in turn requires hard work. Because hard work is what will get you far in life.

A2Z-BADGE-000 [2015] - Life is Good

I leave the house early, as I have a 75 – 90 minute commute, but I am home in time for dinner, baths/ showers, playing and story time every day. So it is not as if I am only around in the evening, but I feel that they are healthy questions they are asking.

A work ethic is, at times, a dying state of mind, or so it would seem. I am eager to instill in my children the same attitude that was instilled in me. Hard work will get you where you need to go.

This is what will yield the greatest results and ensure you can enjoy life the most. Love what you do. Find something you enjoy and run with it. Work hard in school, work hard when you finish education you will be able to do whatever you want.

The message I try to teach my children, is also a lesson for me, and I hope for other authors out there.

If you want to make a success of your writing, you must push on. Keep writing, keep sending out subs and keep piling up the rejection slips. Hard work yields the biggest and the best results. Nobody got rich or successful by sitting around on their backside and waiting for it to come to them.

You need to stay hungry, you need to keep fighting for your place on the ladder. There will be times that it is tough, there will be days when you don’t want to get out of bed and go to school, go to work, sit down and write a few chapters, but those are the times you need to work the most, because it is then that your true desire, you true drive, will come to the forefront.

My children all work hard and do well in school, and it is important to reward them, and ensure that they get to spend their free time having fun. The same applies to my writing. I work hard at it, but I have fun with it, and allow myself the chance to step away from time to time to enjoy what is going on around me.

Success is there or everybody, providing you are willing to put in the graft that will yield the results you want. Never rely on someone else to get you all the way to where you want to go. Stand up, push yourself off from the side and swim out into the open water, because that is there the hard work starts, and it is where the true results lay in wait.

APRIL-CALENDAR [2015]

Leave a Reply

