Instafreebie – Growing a Mailing List

Well, it has been a while since I posted anything on here. A multitude of things have been responsible, including a lack of enthusiasm on my part. I struggled to find things to write about, and as such, fell into bad habits.

Recently, I have been listening to a lot (a LOT) of podcasts, my favourites being The Creative Penn, The Self Publishing Podcast, WordSlinger with Kevin Tumlinson, and of course, Writing in Suburbia by Jake Bible.

They help me through the work day blues that invariable set in at some point, and have kept me sane since we moved office this summer.

Listening to them this morning, I heard a very interesting chat about a site called InstaFreebie. I had never heard of it before, but it caught my attention, not only because the name is kinda cool, but because the podcast in question was all about building a mailing list, something I have been trying to get off the ground (again, but more seriously) in recent weeks.

The concept is simple. Upload a book, and give it away. The more you promote the link, the higher the chance that the site will help you out. This can be in the form of Tweets, or social media mentions, or by making your book a featured book on their site for a set period of time. I am not yet sure of the specifics.

The cool thing is that you can make mailing list opt in mandatory, thus growing your list smoothly. The books are sent automatically by the site when people sign up, and they sync with Mail Chimp which makes the entire process fully automated.

I set one up this afternoon, offering my novel Highway to Hell for free. I am very interested to see how it builds, because I have heard nothing but positive reviews about the site and the speed with which mailing lists can be built.

There is triple bonus for people joining my mailing list currently (hint hint) as when I get a new sign up on Mail Chimp I am giving away a FREE copy of Blood of the Tainted, as well as selecting one lucky winner (at the end of the month) to win a $5.00 Amazon gift card.

So you get 2 free full length novels and maybe a gift card for even more books (or whatever else it is that Amazon sell 😉 )

Check out my InstaFreebie campaign right here.

If you have already signed up, or simply don’t want to, feel free to share this link with your friends and family, or well … anybody you think would appreciate two free books in exchange for signing up.

2 thoughts on “Instafreebie – Growing a Mailing List

  1. I listen to the Self Publishing podcast, and I am signed up to Joanna Penn’s newsletters, all very helpful stuff, I reckon. It’s time we got serious about our business, don’t you think? 😉

Leave a Reply

