The Best Excuse in the Book

We are full of excuses.

Don’t deny it. Because we have all, at one time or another, had to pull an excuse out of the bag.

That doesn’t make us bad people, it makes us human.

But what does make it bad?

When you let these excuses run the house. When you start pulling up excuses before you even knuckle down and do the work.

Excuses can make life easy, they can even make us believe that it is the truth. That is what makes them so dangerous. If you give excuses an inch, they will take a yard and keep on running.

time

What is the biggest and baddest excuse in the book?

I would tell you, but I just don’t have the time for that right now.

Did you see what I did there? Clever right? Time is an easy excuse for us to fall back on because it is the one constant in our lives and the one thing that lies at the base of everything we do. Everything in life takes time. Whether it is quick or slow, purposeful or wasted, everything uses up the precious minutes and seconds that we are given in a day.

To turn around and say categorically that you don’t have time to sit down and write that book, or work on your author platform and marketing, is the easy way out.

Now, I’m not judging anybody here. I’ve spent more than enough time sitting behind one excuse or another.

I’ve spent more than enough time playing the PlayStation, or some silly game on my mobile, or binge-watching some random television show I convince myself I’m desperate enough to watch.

The truth of the matter is that we decide how we invest out time. We all have twenty-four hours in the day.

Time 2

24 hours,

1,440 minutes

86,400 seconds

We get to choose how we spend our time. Ok, there may be 8 hours, or say 10 that we need to sacrifice to the corporate gods, and 6 or 7 to sleep, but the rest, for those remaining minutes we are the masters of our own universe.

If you want to be a writer, you can choose to invest your time in writing, or in growing your mailing list. If you are a reader or reviewer, you can use that time to read or catch up on reviews you have been putting off.

The reality is that we choose how we invest our time so we cannot complain when we run out.

For me, the end goal is being a full-time author, That isn’t going to happen without dedication. So I need to choose, do I want to use my free time to watch tv, or do I want to use it in investing in my future?

excuses

There are no excuses when you have the overriding control. I choose how I spend my time. Sure there will be days when I want to sit and chill or unwind with some tv series or another, but then I have to accept that that time is written off. I can’t get it back.

Today is the day to stop making excuses and to start taking ownership of your decisions.

Here’s to never not having the time again!

 

Leave a Reply

