Allow me to Introduce: Joseph Beekman

Today it is my privilege to to be able to introduce you to an amazingly talented multi genre author Mr. Joseph Beekman.

That is more than enough waffle from me, so without further ado, let us begin the interrogation… I mean…. yeah.

1.   Before we start talking shop, please, tell us a little about yourself. What makes you tick outside of writing?

Thanks for the spotlight, Alex!  Well, I guess what has always made me tick, outside of the writing, is my desire to keep things always interesting; to be adventurous and never complacent.  I’ve always had a mind that keeps going and going, so to create, to tell stories, has always been a great outlet and medium for all the madness.

2.   What event in your life has been the most pivotal?

I’d say it would be an event that occurred a little over 4 years ago when I had been severely injured and had major facial reconstruction surgery; But thanks to God, I came out of it a better soul.  I had spiraled down into a dark Hell, but that incident changed everything for the best.  I am now fully involved in my writing, as well as helping others that are in similar places where I had been.  It is indeed a true blessing, and forever grateful for that one single incident.

3.   What books have most influenced your life?

Dune by Frank Herbert.  My brother, Dan, had given that book to me when I was in high school, and I must say that it was the coolest book I had ever received!  Everything about it just blew me away!  The writing style is brilliant, the story is genius, and it just spurred me into really getting serious about writing books.   Some others would be The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings: those are just amazing stories.  I can’t say enough about them, but they truly changed my outlook on life, as well as writing!

4.   If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor?

Frank Herbert.

5.   What inspired you to write your first book?

My love for fantasy adventure, science fiction, the paranormal, and my two cool cats! J  I’ve always been writing short stories, and such, but the actual first book was “A Tail Spun”.  It’s a post-apocalyptic fantasy war story that involves animals and other paranormal creatures, as well as mythological creatures.

6.   What’s the most blatant lie you’ve ever told?

My age.  Most people think I am look younger than I am, so I’ll just let them guess the age.  If they guess below my age (43), then I’ll just nod my head, “yep, that’s it!” J

7.   What is the biggest sacrifice you have made for your writing?

Time for others.  I would love to spend more time with helping out more people, and animals in need.  I have a giant heart for the welfare of neglected/abused animals, so I’d like to find some balance for that.

8.   How do you react to a bad review of one of your books?

With a grain of salt.  I look at it as someone’s opinion, hopefully an honest one, and that it should be viewed as constructive criticism.   Just stay true to your heart, and keep an open mind to what others may say: no one can change anybody else, so once your work is out there, then its open game for anyone’s opinion.

9.   Which one of your books would be your favorite as a reader?

Little Orphan Anvil: the Shades of Fate.  However, I do love all three of them as an entire tale told.

10. What’s your favourite fruit?

Blueberry.

11. If you were going to commit the perfect murder, how would you go about it?

That’s a tough question…I’ll leave that one to the experts!

12. Who would play you in a film of your life?

Any of the major top stars in Hollywood would be fine!

13. What are the most important attributes to remaining sane as a writer?

Stay true to you, and never abandon hope.  And take a deep breath once in awhile.

When I was a kid, I got kicked out of my English class for saying my dog ate my homework. Sadly however, it was true. My teacher kept the remaining book as a trophy. So tell us…

14. Has the dog ever eaten your manuscript?

No, but I had a dog that once ate the book “Dune Messiah”, the second of the Dune books!  I was halfway into the book, left it on the patio, when I returned in was in shreds. J

15. Do you laugh at your own jokes?

Sure!

16. What scares you?

Complacency, Isolation, lack of imagination, losing my sense of keeping things simple.

17. Did you ever come up with any ideas while writing that were so wild that you scared yourself, and made you wonder ‘where did that come from?

Sometimes.  Like when I was writing “A Tail Spun”, there were a few characters that I thought: “what the hell?”  and then, “oh well, cool! I’ll use them in this scene, or that scene!” lol

18. When did you write your first book, and how old were you?

Probably 8 or 9, but it was only a little story, more of a “once upon a time’ type thing.

19. What is your favorite color

Dark Red.

20. If you could trade places with any other person for a week, famous or not famous, living or dead, real or fictional. with whom would it be?

Mark Twain.

21. If you could be any character in fiction, whom would you be?

I think Aragorn from Lord of the Rings would be super cool!

22. If someone wrote a biography about you, what do you think the title should be?

The Firemoth.

23. What is your favorite scary movie.

Susperia, great Italian horror film, a real classic!

Joseph Beekman moved to Arizona when he was a year-old from Bozeman, Montana and has lived in the Pheonix/Scottsdale area ever since. A graduate from the University of Arizona (1994), Joseph has always had a passion for creating, reading, and writing. He has been a production assistant and editor of small budget independent film productions, as well as having produced, directed an award winning independent short in 1997. He currently writes books and screenplays, and is an avid supporter of animal rescue and protection. A follower of science fiction, fantasy, paranormal, and horror novels, as well as a big fan of history, music, and the arts, much of his material focuses on the fantasy/science fiction based genre. He currently lives in Arizona with his two cats, Jack and Bardamu.

Joseph’s books are all available on Amazon, and can be accessed via his Author Page

While you can also track him down on Facebook

6 thoughts on “Allow me to Introduce: Joseph Beekman

  1. Hi Alex, hi Joseph! Frank Herbert was a huge influence on my imagination as well and Dune has to be one of the best books ever written. Some writing transcends artificial barriers such as genre and I think Dune is one of them. Another would have to be Left Hand of Darkness by Ursula K. LeGuin.

    A question Alex didn’t ask was what you consider to be one of your faults. All in the interests of a rounded personality profile. 😉

    1. Thanks acflory, for the comment! I’d have to say a fault of mine would be that I tend to over-think things too much, and it can sometimes prove to be a barrier for me just getting things done, or keeping them simple. 🙂 I hope you get a chance to read some of the books! – Joseph

  2. Loved this review, I’ve known and admired Joseph for a few years now, but I learned a lot. Thank you for doing this.

Leave a comment